CYNGOR SIR POWYS COUNTY COUNCIL.

County Council 19 October 2016.

REPORT AUTHOR:Solicitor to the CouncilSUBJECT:2018 Review of Parliamentary Constituencies

REPORT FOR: Response to Consultation

On 24 March 2016 the Boundary Commission for Wales announced the start of the 2018 Review of Parliamentary Constituencies in Wales in accordance with the provisions of the Parliamentary Constituencies Act 1986 as amended by the Parliamentary Voting System and Constituencies Act 2011. The Act of Parliament reduces the number of constituencies in the UK from 650 to 600 and sets an electoral quota which requires each constituency to have an electorate, as at the review date, that is not smaller than 71,031 and no larger than 78,507.

The Boundary Commission for Wales has now published its initial proposals for the 2018 review of Parliamentary Constituencies in Wales. These changes result in a reduction from the present 40 Parliamentary constituencies within Wales to 29.

Proposal Summary

The Commission proposes a new county constituency of **Brecon, Radnor and Montgomery**. This new constituency would contain the existing constituency of Brecon & Radnorshire and the following wards of Montgomeryshire: Berriew, Caersws, Churchstoke, Dolforwyn, Forden, Kerry, Llandinam, Montgomery, Newtown Central, Newtown East, Newtown Llanllwchaiarn North, Newtown Llanllwchaiarn West, Newtown South, Rhiwcynon. The constituency would have an electorate of 72,115 and would have the largest geographical area of the proposed Welsh constituencies.

The electoral wards of Blaen Hafren and Llanidloes (with a joint electorate of 3852) are joined to the existing constituency of Ceredigion and wards from north Pembrokeshire and Carmarthen to create a new county constituency of **Ceredigion a Gogledd Sir Benfro** (Ceredigion and North Pembrokeshire). This constituency would have an electorate of 71,392.

North Montgomeryshire, (which includes: Glantwymyn, Banwy, Llanrhaeadr-ym-Mochnant/Llansilin, Llanbrynmair, Llanfair Caereinion, Llanfihangel, Llanwyddyn, Meifod, Llandrinio, Guilsfield, Welshpool castle, Welshpool Gungrog, Welshpool Llanerchyddol, Trewern, Llanfyllin, Llansantffraid, Machynlleth and Llandysilio) joins electoral wards from Denbighshire, Wrexham, Conwy and Gwynedd to form a new county constituency called **De Clwyd a Gogledd Sir Faldwyn** (South Clwyd and North Montgomeryshire). This new constituency would have an electorate of 71,097.

A full copy of the report is available at the Boundary Commission for Wales website: <u>www.bcomm-wales.gov.uk/2018-review</u>.

The Commission acknowledges that it has been constrained by the absolute requirement that the electorate of every constituency must fall within the statutory range. As a result the Commission's freedom to give effect to other statutory considerations has, at times, been limited. Similarly, in considering the merits of alternative schemes, in some instances apparent solutions have been found not to be viable because they cannot be accommodated within the requirements as to the size of the electorate or because of their knock-on effects on other constituencies, all of which must comply with these same requirements.

Members are asked to consider the proposals and decide whether or not the Council should respond to this consultation or whether responses should be left to individual constituents and political groups. The Commission requests that representations say whether they approve of, or object to the proposals, and to give their reasons. In particular objectors are asked to propose an alternative to the Commission's proposals, as any counter proposal is likely to carry more weight than a simple statement of objection. It will be important to balance any alternative proposal and their consequences against the statutory criteria.

Consultation

The initial consultation period is 12 weeks, which will end on 5 December 2016. Representations need to be addressed to the Boundary Commission for Wales, Hastings House, Fitzalan Court, Cardiff, CF24 0BL, or emailed to <u>bcomm.wales@wales.gsi.gov.uk</u>. The Commission is also holding public hearings across Wales, one of which will be held in Powys on 2-3 November at the Metropole Hotel, Llandrindod.

Recommendation:	Reason for Recommendation:
To consider whether a submission should be made by Powys County Council and if so to consider and discuss proposals to form such a submission.	To provide the Boundary Commission with representations from Powys County Council.

Relevant Policy (ies):			
Within Policy:	N/A	Within Budget:	N/A

Contact Officer Name:	Tel:	Fax:	Email:
Sandra Matthews	01597 826747	01597 826220	sandram@powys.gov.uk

Relevant Portfolio Member(s):	County Councillor Wynne Jones
Relevant Local Member(s):	All Members

Background Papers used to prepare Report: Boundary Commission for Wales, 2018 Review of Parliamentary Constituencies - Initial Proposals Report.